XLIX

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_1662

i’m still in shock. i still can’t believe it. my beloved new england patriots are super bowl champions again. i feel like you guys maybe don’t understand how bleeping awesome this is. i mean, i love these players as if they were my brothers, belichick as if he were my dad (or at least a cool uncle), and kraft like a grandpa. this teams is like a family to me. i am emotionally invested in the lives of dudes i’ve never met. and my love for them runs deep. sunday’s super bowl was the single greatest game of my lifetime.

i had to pack most of our patriots shrine in my carryon bag and transport it from our living room in siloam springs, arkansas to a hotel room in orlando, florida. everything was meticulously laid out well before game time. we ate our SB49 snacks before kick off because my stomach cannot handle solid food during. i stood and placed my hand on my heart as i listened and sang along to the national anthem. then it was business time. i wore my blanket as a cape, held my tom beary in the crook of my left arm, and looped my fan towel around fingers. i was ready.

that game was a veritable emotional roller coaster. i was up, down, sideways. i cheered, i cried, i buried my face, and then cried all the happy tears at the end. in a way, i knew we would win. see a few months ago, after the crapfest that was the kansas city monday night football debacle, i was in a local flea market and came across a SBXXXVIII commemorative plastic cup with souvenir t-shirt stuffed inside. that super bowl was the second win of the three that defined the patriots dynasty of the 2000s (it was also the one with the wardrobe malfunction). this cup remained unopened all of these 11 years. i found it, i bought it, i vowed to open it when we won. and we did. and it was sweet.

i could not be more proud of my team and the way they played. never giving up, even as i thought all was lost. and it was even better that i got to watch every second of it with matt. i’m pretty sure we will not soon forget the night of february 1, 2015. it was freakin’ awesome.

Leave a Reply

