life, lately

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

in lieu of making a totally unattainable resolution, i like to set small goals for myself in the new year. one of those goals is to read more. i used to be a voracious reader. like stay up til 4 am because i can’t put the thing down and blearily stumble my way through the next day kind of reader. but over the last year or so, i’ve allowed my evil phone and it’s various apps to eat up all my time. that ends now! i am taking back my time and my love of the written word. this month i finally finished the book i bought months ago, and i just read ‘yes please’ (soooooooo good by the way. i underlined basically the whole thing). and yesterday i went to goodwill and bought a stack of new books and a pair of book-reading sweats! i need to wash the sweats but i’ve already started reading ‘slaughterhouse five’ and totally enjoying it. so, if you have any recs for me, i’m asking. i want to expand my horizons and learn about new subjects and genres. so fire away.

also, i want to eat well and drink more tea. and i don’t mean eat healthier, i already do that. i want to eat WELL. good meaningful foods, with thoughtful preparation, that supports local farmers and businesses, and shared with people i love. and drink hot tea because i know too much coffee gives me stomach issues and the shakes.

so that’s what i’m up to lately. what about you guys?

9 thoughts on “life, lately

  1. I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews on Into The Darkest Corner book, its a psycho-thriller genre, some people actual woke up in the middle of the night sweating & scared, as an effect from the book. Haha I’m still seaeching for that book, so hard to find one

  2. Some of my favorite books:

    A Moveable Feast, Hemingway
    Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro
    The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger
    Luncheon of the Boating Party, Susan Vreeland
    Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, John Berendt
    A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving
    Any Nora Ephron but Heartburn is my fav
    Apron Anxiety by Alyssa Shelasky (she wrote this book out of her blog of the same name. When she started, she was living in DC and engaged to Spike Mendelsohn who was on Top Chef…it’s about her trying to learn to cook and be engaged to a chef. She is an excellent writer and I’ve re-read both her book and blog a number of times).
    The Circle by Dave Eggers
    Kitchen Confidential, Bourdain

    1. i bad want to read ‘heartburn’ after seeing that amy poehler loved it 🙂 and i think i’d really dig ‘kitchen confidential.’ did you know i have a friend that looks EXACTLY LIKE anthony bourdain? it’s true

  3. Hey amanda! I really love your idea of eating meaningfully – that’s so thought provoking! I’m a massive book nerd and definitely suggest A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness! Throw me a comment/message sometime!

  4. Hi, Amanda. Two books that radically affected me recently are Into the Wild by John Krakauer and The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. You may have read them, but they’re darned good. Oh, and Life of Pi.

    I’ve been reading you for a long time, and I absolutely love your sincere vibe and your commitment to sustainability. I’d be honored if you popped in and took a look at my blog (when you’re done reading). XO, Poppy

    1. thank you so much!!! i’ve thought about the book ‘wild.’ another friend recommended it to me saying that it was soooo good. and i will most definitely check your blog 🙂

  5. I love nothing more than a giant stack of books. I’ve been on a non-fiction kick lately – currently reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. The Tipping Point was great, too. One of the best fiction books I’ve read is The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh – couldn’t put it down. (The Poisonwood Bible was great, too!) And that De Colores mug brings back so many memories!

Leave a Reply

